Friday, November 5, 2010

Thurgood Marshall College Fund Hosts 23rd Anniversary Awards Dinner, Raises Record 1.3 Million Dollars

Virgis Colbert, Thurgood Marshall College Fund Chairman Emeritus; John F. Lundgren, Anniversary Awards Chair; Niecy Nash, Event Host; Johnny C. Taylor, Jr., President/CEO, Thurgood Marshall College Fund; and Jim Clifton, Thurgood Marshall College Fund Board Chair, attend the 23rd anniversary Thurgood Marshall College Fund awards dinner on November 1, 2010 in New York City.

By Akira Barclay, New York Contributor

The Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF), the strongest voice for the 47 Public Historically Black Colleges and Universities and 6 Law schools across the nation, held its 23rd Anniversary Awards Dinner on Monday, November 1, 2010 in the Metropolitan Ballroom of the Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers. The gala was hosted by actors Niecy Nash and Anthony Anderson, and chaired by John F. Lundgren, President and CEO of Stanley Black & Decker. The event, which raised a record $1.3 million, continued a tradition that began more than 20 years ago in the name of civil rights activist and Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall.

Honorees Neil Golden, senior vice president, chief marketing officer, McDonald’s USA, LLC; Rhonda Mims, president, ING Foundation and senior vice president, Corporate Responsibility and Multicultural Affairs; Kenneth Wilcox, senior vice president of sales, LALA USA; and Dr. George C. Wright, president, Prairie View A&M University were recognized for their achievements in promoting diversity, leadership and community service.

Event hosts, actors Niecy Nash and Anthony Anderson

Sponsored by ING, McDonald’s USA, Bacardi USA, Costco, Stanley Black & Decker, Charmer Sunbelt, MillerCoors, AT&T and Hershey, the event featured performances by Patti LaBelle, Irish R&B sensation, Laura Izibor, and the Prairie View A&M University Chamber Singers. Highlights of the evening included a special tribute to the late Dr. Dorothy I. Height, the American administrator, educator, and social activist as well as appearances by Anika Noni Rose (“For Colored Girls”), Omarosa (“The Apprentice”), Jeanine Pirro (“Judge Jeanine Pirro”) and Kami Crawford (Miss Teen USA). Guests included Fashion Designer B. Michael, Author and Producer Tonya Lewis Lee, Real Estate Broker Spencer Means, and NBA Legend Walt Frazier.

Kenneth Wilcox, Honoree; Johnny C. Taylor, Jr.; the Honorable Judge Jeanine Pirro; Jim Clifton, Board Chair

B. Michael, Fashion Designer; Rhonda Mims, President, ING Foundation; Mark-Anthony Edwards, Vice President, Business Development and Media Relations, b michael America

Johnny C. Taylor, Jr., Tonya Lewis Lee and Spencer Means

Omarosa Manigault and Johnny C. Taylor, Jr.

“The Thurgood Marshall College Fund 23rd Anniversary Awards dinner was hugely successful and we are pleased to have raised a record-setting $1.3 million this year,” says Johnny C. Taylor, Jr., President & CEO, Thurgood Marshall College Fund. “We are grateful for the generosity of our sponsors and guests, and remain inspired by the talent and determination of the students we serve.”

Actress Anika Noni Rose introduces a special tribute to Dr. Dorothy Height.

The 23rd Anniversary Awards Dinner concludes TMCF’s annual Anniversary Weekend, which brings together more than 600 students from across the country for a Leadership Institute and Recruitment Conference. Visit the website at

Jim Clifton and TMCF Founder, Dr. N. Joyce Payne

Source: Press Release/Photo credits: Alex Lipowec, Sebastian Piras and Akira Barclay

No comments: