Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Boris Kodjoe & Nicole Ari Parker to Host Terri J. Vaughn's 8th Annual Angel Awards Benefit

Local Community Leaders Honored; R&B Vocalist Kelly Price to Perform at Benefit on Saturday, August 13, 2011

SAN FRANCISCO, CA -- Accomplished actors Boris Kodjoe and Nicole Ari Parker will host the highly-anticipated 8th Annual Angel Awards Benefit affair that will raise funds for the Take Wings Foundation founded by actress Terri J. Vaughn. Growing up in distressed areas like her own childhood neighborhood—San Francisco's Hunter's Point projects, Vaughn founded the non-profit organization to address social and life skills needs of at-risk teens. Kodjoe and Parker are the founders of Sophie’s Voice Foundation, named in honor of their daughter Sophie, who was diagnosed with spina bifida at birth.

The evening will honor Warren J. Strudwick, M.D., M.B.A. and Fitzpatrick Dealership Group president Edward Fitzpatrick for their respective spirited community involvement and philanthropic contributions. Providing entertainment for the evening will be GRAMMY®-nominated vocalist Kelly Price, and surprise celebrity guests are expected to attend. The San Francisco Marriott Marquis located at 55 Fourth Street, will be the host venue for the affair.

“I am excited that the Take Wings Foundation will acknowledge the professional contributions and community involvement of its two extraordinary 2011 Angel Award honorees,” said Vaughn. “Dr. Warren Strudwick, a board certified orthopedic surgeon and sports medicine practitioner, is president of Sinkler Miller Medical Association and head team physician for the Oakland Raiders.” She continues, “Ed Fitzpatrick is president of Fitzpatrick Dealership Group--Valley BMW and Valley Lexus in Modesto, and Coliseum Lexus of Oakland. Ed is a philanthropic contributor to the arts, education and community enhancement, who, this year had Warrior Arena at California State University renamed the Ed and Bertha Fitzpatrick Arena to recognize their monetary commitment to the school. Both of our honorees are each remarkable individuals and pillars of our community.”

Tickets are $150 each, and may be purchased online at